I thought I’d share the following video for three main reasons; the musicians that have come together to perform this song happen to be some of my favourite artists/members of bands I grew up loving, To Write Love on Her Arms is a foundation I 100% stand behind, and – I’m sure most will agree – this is a kick ass rendition of a classic, ‘I Get By With a Little Help From My Friends’.

A little background on where this video is from; Heavy and Light had it’s first evening of songs, conversation and hope back in 2007 in the wake of the passing of Hawthorne Heights member, and friend, Casey Calvert. The event was created through the non-profit movement To Write Love On Her Arms, a foundation dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self injury and suicide.

tumblr_mwu7dkM31d1qzghgbo1_1280

Jamie Tworkowski first wrote a story of a friend struggling with depression and addiction and laid the seeds that bloomed into TWLOHA. To Write Love on Her Arms exists to encourage, inform, inspire, and also to invest directly into treatment & recovery. My brother first introduced me to the foundation several years back now and we have both been supporters and strong believers in TWLOHA vision and message.

You were created to love and be loved.
You were meant to live life in relationship with other people, to know and be known.
You need to know your story is important, and you’re part of a bigger story.
You need to know your life matters.

And just because I love these artists so much, I will share some of my favourite music from each of them

Aaron Gillespie (Underoath, The Almost) – Amazing Because It Is

Jon Foreman (Switchfoot) – Love is Strong (Jon Foreman) Dare You To Move (Switchfoot)

Dustin Kensrue (Thrice) – Rejoice (Dustin Kensrue) Come All You Weary (Thrice)**

Josh Moore – Tomorrow

 

 

Leave a Reply

